junkieshost.blogg.se

Wd my passport ultra 4tb review
Wd my passport ultra 4tb review







wd my passport ultra 4tb review wd my passport ultra 4tb review
  1. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review update#
  2. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review portable#
  3. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review software#
  4. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review windows 8#

I ended up just reformatting both of the new drives and installing a third-party encryption software, and I am making my back-ups manually. I went online and tried again, and it still didn’t work.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review software#

For one thing, apparently you have to be online to use the software at all, even just to set your password. However, the new WD software still didn’t work.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review update#

The first problem I had was that the new WD software tried to update the old WD software that was already installed on my computer, but the update was a fail, so I had to completely uninstall all of the WD software and start from scratch.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review windows 8#

I’m running some older computers with Windows 8 and Windows 10, but I don’t think the operating system is the problem. However, the software that comes with the new Western Digital storage devices simply would not work for me. I have had no problems with my back-ups and I have not lost data. In fact, they’re still working, but they’re getting older, so I bought two new Western Digital storage devices because I need a reliable back-up. I have owned multiple Western Digital storage devices in the past. Something is definitely wrong with these drives. I’ve also tried both of the problematic drives on a different laptop, and the problems persist, so my laptop is not the problem.Update: With 150 gigabytes of data already on the drive, I started transferring another file onto the new HDD, and it is transferring at a rate below 8 mbps. How do I know? Because I’m using three identical drives on the same laptop and the two made in Malaysia eject just fine, but the two made in Thailand do not eject at all. It’s a problem with the drives themselves.

wd my passport ultra 4tb review

I’d like to add that I’m using the drive in Win7, so it is not a problem specific to Win10, as another user surmised. That is definitely not what I’d hope for from customer service from such a well-respected brand. For the drive I returned for replacement, had I gone through WD warranty service, I would have had to pay to mail it to them, even though it was defective straight out of the box, and I would have had to wait possibly weeks for a replacement. But WD should not be selling defective drives, and they should do more to take responsibility when they do. I’m very happy with the two that were manufactured in Malaysia. I do like the look of the drives and the fact that they’re so small as compared to the last generation that I purchased. I am now uncertain as to whether to try yet another exchange or just to hang onto this substandard third drive or return it for a refund. But I am finding that they clearly have some q/a issues, and they do not seem eager to address them, which is discouraging as I feel I have given them every opportunity to do so.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review portable#

I was initially pleased with the fact that they followed up by e-mail, but now that I realize they refuse to answer any tech questions via e-mail, even though technically they reached out to me to see if my issue was resolved, I am definitely not impressed with their “technical support.” I have always purchased WD hdds for my portable storage needs, with one exception that I regretted. They were impatient and did not seem concerned to actually resolve my issue. When I DID speak with technical support, they sent me a bunch of tests to run and refused to stay on the line while I ran them. Again, very simple, very direct questions that should not require a phone call and all the bureaucratic waste of time that goes with that. When simple questions are asked via e-mail, in response to their messages to follow up on my “case,” they just keep telling me to call rather than answering the questions. Technical support has not been very helpful. So, I returned the drive from Thailand and it was replaced, unfortunately, with another drive also produced in Thailand and also VERY SLOW and impossible to safely eject without shutting down the computer or “uninstalling” the drive.

wd my passport ultra 4tb review

In addition, it was MUCH slower than the drives made in Malaysia, writing at speeds less than half the rate of the drives I received that were produced in Malaysia. It insists that it is “in use” and can only be safely removed by fully shutting down the computer it’s being used on, which is not what would be hoped for from a portable HDD. The third was manufactured in Thailand, and was very slow compared to the first two and also had a common problem which is that it doesn’t respond to the normal “safely eject” procedures. The first two were manufactured in Malaysia, and have been trouble-free. I recently purchased three of these drives.









Wd my passport ultra 4tb review